- Anonymous from Taylors, Posted: 08/02/2021
All of our children and grandchildren plus 3 friends of the grands and a friend of the family went on our trip. Everyone loved the location and the lay out of the house. Was the best place we’ve stayed at yet! Complete family fun and satisfaction for all!
The kitchen table & chairs were meant for outdoors as they are flimsy. Chairs with arms are not meant to be in such a tight space. We enjoy meals together as a family! Overall, we enjoyed our stay, plenty of bedrooms & space and beautiful weather all week. The deck & steps to the ocean can’t be beat!!!
- Michael M. from Tarpon Springs, Posted: 07/13/2021
Checking in & out was a breeze, the realty people were very friendly. The Thomas House was in a perfect location for our family, nice deck to the ocean, beds were comfortable. It could’ve been cleaner, the floors looked like they hadn’t been washed in awhile, nor the bathtubs. The shower curtains also need to be changed as they were also not at all clean! The owner seriously need to look in to changing the bathtubs as the bottoms are rounded & slick, and cause falls. Yes, one of us fell in the slick tub and had bruises for days, glad nothing was broken!!
- Reide B. from Belton, Posted: 06/30/2021
Great setting for family fun. Third year there and love creating new memories and keeping ok’d traditions.
- Tina C. from Indianopolis, Posted: 06/21/2021
We have stayed in the Thomas House for 10 + years. We come down every year for two weeks in June. We love it here. This was the cleanest the house ever was. We love the privacy being so far down on Waccamaw. The only trouble we had was the new check in. We waited all day even after 4:30 with now call. However when we went to check in anyway, our keys were ready. The line was still wrapped around the parking lot.
- Anonymous from Cromwell, Posted: 08/19/2019
Our vacation in MB was wonderful but the house we rented could definitely use some TLC. Very basic cleaning was done but there were many areas we cleaned ourselves to be comfortable staying/sleeping there. The most heard comment from our group, even the kids, was "this could be so nice if they would put some of the rental money back into the house". We also learned we couldn't run to many appliances together with central air, we actually had to have the power company out 1 of the 1st few days we were there. Overall nothing was awful but the property could use some help.
- Mitchell J. from Florence, Posted: 08/09/2019
We had the best time, can't wait until next year
- Anonymous from Baneberry, Posted: 09/12/2018
Enjoyed our family vacation on Thomas House with our large family. GC Realty was great and responded to any requests from us. Only a couple of things, broken hose and outside sprayer which was promptly replaced. We loved the house and the wonderful thriple decks and sunroom. Was pleasantly surprised with the all art in all the rooms. Great two week vacation and the rental met all our needs Highly recommend...
- Anonymous from Webster, Posted: 08/28/2018
The house is roomy with 2 very nice rooms. 1) An enclosed long air conditioned porch with continuous windows. 2) An upstairs bedroom with a balcony and full window door looking out on the ocean. The other 2 bedrooms are nice and allow for a parent room and a separate kids room. The downstairs rooms are good with dehumidifier and air conditioner. There are plenty of spaces to put bicycles inside. Nice outside decks and walkways. Beach is not crowded. good overall experience. will rent next year. One thing that needs some attention is finding a space for a long table so that all people can eat at the same table. Perhaps a long thin table in the porch would serve this function.
- Sean G. from Elmira, Posted: 08/27/2018
The best way to to a vacation you won’t forget starts with Garden City realty
- Judy L. from Woodruff, Posted: 07/31/2018
I loved the layout of the house. Traveling with teenagers, they were able to stay in the lower level and had a sitting area where they could play their video games. Left the adults to the living area upstairs with TV.
- Anonymous from Roswell, Posted: 07/05/2018
A perfect family vacation. The access to the beach is easy, the house is decorated tastefully beachy, the improved deck was great. We had a couple of issues that were handled promptly. My only complaint would be the refrigerator. The house could really use an icemaker. We were a large group and no way could the icemaker keep up. Minor complaint to a beautiful week!!!!
- Anonymous from Roanoke, Posted: 08/09/2017
Wonderful time with family!
- Anonymous from Batavia, Posted: 08/01/2017
THE LOCATION OF THE PROPERTY WAS PERFECT, THE HOUSE WAS NICE AND THE ONLY CONCERN WAS THAT THERE WAS NO GRILL AND KITCHEN SUPPLIES LIMITED. OVERALL A GREAT TRIP.
- Anonymous from Pippa Passes, Posted: 05/29/2017
Very good location
- Jessie D. from Blacksburg, Posted: 09/15/2016
We stayed at the Thomas House the first week of Sept.This house has plenty of room for a large family. Loved how close the beach is to the house! Very nice closed in ocean front sitting room. Loved it so much, I have reserved it for same time,next year. Great rates for the amount of bedrooms available. Would have liked to have had a grill available and maybe a TV in the bedrooms with the queen beds. Nice location to grocery stores.
- Anonymous from Columbus, Posted: 09/28/2015
I really don't think we have to look for another beach house because this one was perfect for us.
- Anonymous from Southborough, Posted: 09/01/2015
This location is fantastic. It's a little far from Sam's Corner & Kroger, but it's also a bit quieter on this end of the beach. Being near a jetty can be troublesome, as other beachgoers and fishermen like to camp there, sometimes directly in front of the house! The rooms are very nice, especially the master suite on the top floor. The enclosed patio is also a big hit with the family. All in all, this is a property we will definitely be renting again for years to come.
- Anonymous from Roanoke, Posted: 07/27/2015
We had a wonderful time. 15 family members together first time in 10 years. 93 year old granny with us as our leader, loves the view from the back porch.
- Rita D. from Weber City, Posted: 09/15/2014
We were very pleased with Thomas House. It was spacious, good location. The coffee pot was broken. We bought one, left it for future guests. Mattresses on queen beds were uncomfortable. All else was wonderful. We hope to stay there aagain. Have rented beach houses for years. By far, we were mosnt impressed with Thomas House. Staff at rental office was very helpful. Beach access was wonderful. House was clean, comfortable, welcoming. I would recommend it to friends. Shopping, grocery stores closeby. We will definitely be returning to Thomas House.
- Anonymous from Nashua, Posted: 01/04/2014
The house was what we needed for the family get away. Enough room to get together and when we need to spend some time alone. The beach access was amazing.
- Tiffany T. from Greenville, Posted: 09/02/2013
This house has such great potential and, for the price, it is good for large groups. However, there were some things that needed work. The condition of the deck was tough with kids and elderly. Many of the boards needed to be tacked down and one of the steps leading down to the beach was broken. Inside the home could also use a little attention. Many of the linens were soiled/stained, the dryer didn't function well, the glass door in the "master" bedroom would not open, and the bed in the master was quite uncomfortable. The view was spectacular and overall we enjoyed our stay. I'm not sure we will stay here again, though.
- Anonymous from Springfield, Posted: 08/13/2013
We have stayed at the Thomas House for the last four years. It has the number of bedrooms we need for our family. A couple drawbacks for a house that sleeps 15: there are no big serving dishes and the sofas and chair in the living room are very uncomfortable. But, overall, it is a nice house to enjoy the beach and watch for dolphins.
- Larry S. from Mooresville, Posted: 06/06/2013
Our experience was very pleasant. We had a few problems but they were handled by GCR in a timely and proffesional manner.
- Anthony W. from Greenwood, Posted: 05/07/2013
- Jean R. from Woodbridge, Posted: 08/27/2012
We have rented two other houses over the years for our extended family vacation,but budget constraints have us at the Thomas house for the 2nd time. The lower level provided a lot of privacy and was much more de-humidified this year. We miss the larger dining room table, but the porch and living room are great. We wished it was closer to the pier but that might be fine for others. Hopefully when it is sold the rental price will not go up. We are coming back next year
- Anonymous from Springfield, Posted: 08/18/2012
This house accommodates 15 people. However, one drawback to it is there are no large serving dishes or mixing bowls to cook for that many people. Also, had a few palmetoes that were in the house. Not good when they are on your bed.
Add a nice charcoal or gas grill (the existing charcoal grills were falling apart)
Add some heavy duty furniture to the back deck. The plastic chairs are flimsy and we had one break on us. The back deck is really nice in the early evenings and we enjoyed sitting out on the deck.
Fix the outside shower head closer to the beach so you can rinse off your sandy feet when you get off the beach without having to go to the lower level.
Yes we are returning for 2013!
- Anonymous from North Augusta, Posted: 06/25/2012
This was our 2nd year at this location. The items we identified as deficiencies in 2011 were all corrected and the house was in much better shape than last year. A couple of suggestions to make it even better:
- Larry S. from Mooresville, Posted: 06/18/2012
we had a very pleasant stay and signed up for next year at the same place.
view of the beach and ocean from anywhere on the back of the house from the two decks. It was great! The house was well maintained, it could use a new coffee pot though and a few new mattresses on the single beds upstairs. The only problem I had was the shower
heads did not adjust high enough for a person who is 6'3", which is what I am, so it made it a little tough when showering. But, hey, it was all good, we were on vacation, complaining was not on the agenda! I was thankful that the house was big enough, and
enough tv's for my family. We had 9 adults & 6 children and we had plenty of room. I absolutely loved the huge sliding doors in the upstairs master made for an awesome view and the room was very spacious. We did see a couple palmetto bugs in the house...which
freaked my daughters out...LOL, but I've lived in Georgia, so they weren't a big thing to me. All in all, we had a wonderful family vacation and we were all satisfied with the Thomas House. We would absolutely rent it again!
- Diana H. from Gratis, Posted: 09/20/2011
This house is very spacious and very nice. The enclosed sunroom was my favorite place in the mornings...the view was awesome. The location of the house is South of the main beach, which made for less people and it felt more private. We had a wonderful
the deck and view from the 3rd floor bedroom. I would rent this house again only if that was fixed. Garden City Realty is SUPERB to deal with and I would recommend them to anyone.
- Kim B. from Greenville, Posted: 09/19/2011
We had a great time. My only complaint is that the vertical blinds in the master bedroom on the 3rd floor do not open. And even if they did, they are installed opposite the way the door opens. This was a big deal to us in that we could not easily access
- Anonymous from Springfield, Posted: 08/15/2011
The house is a very nice place to stay. Wish there were a couple more TV's on the main level. Plus the TV downstairs has very poor reception for cable. WiFi would also be nice. Missed the sofa that was on the sun porch last year. Overall, a nice place
- Anonymous from North Augusta, Posted: 07/05/2011
The broken ice maker has been removed. All of the blinds have been replaced. The entire house and grounds around were treated by the exterminator and the whole house has had a deep cleaning.
- Garden City Realty staff
Excellent location and a great glassed in sunroom (with a nice cold AC unit). Need to get housekeeping to do a better job cleaning it up between rentals (particularly need to vacuum the air conditioning intake vents). Former renter's dirty towels were left in the entrance foyer but were quickly picked up when we called to inform housekeeping about this. Also need to replace the vertical blinds on all beach facing sliding glass doors as we ended up with blankets hanging up to provide some privacy at night. Also need to do some exterminating as roaches were evident in the ground level living area (we did not use this room so it was not as big of a deal for us). We liked the house layout/location/beach enough that we did book it again for 2012!
All the cooking pans were unusable. They were scrapped so badly, that the bottoms were flaking off. I called maintenance and they sent over a new set of pans within the hour.
There were 3 AC units in the house, but only two worked. We called maintenance and they contacted the owners personal AC guy. He was onsite within an hour and said the unit was frozen, even though we had not been running it more than an hour. The AC guy said he would be back in the monring. When he returned, the unit still did not work. I called Gail Hejna and she moved my family to a different house.
My family had issues, but Garden City Realty worked with us to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. I would rent from Garden City Realty again.
- Anonymous from Morgantown, Posted: 05/23/2011
Thank you for taking the time to complete the user review on the Thomas House. We apologize for the difficulties you experienced when you got to the property. You did the right thing by calling us to let us know of the problems and concerns you had. We will always work very hard to accommodate your needs and eventhough having to move mid-week is not what we hope for we at least had something to move you to. We hope that you will give us another try by calling us for your next vacation to the beach. This report will be reviewed with the Housekeeping and Maintenance Departments and also with the owner of the property. Thank you again.
- Garden City Realty staff
Basically, our bare feet were black on the bottoms after walking through the house. None of the floor mats had been washed. The ice maker did not work. There was not enough silverware and bowls to accomidate 15 people.
- Anonymous from SPRINGDALE , Posted: 11/29/2010
We had a big family gathering for Thanksgiving and the Thomas House was just what we needed. Lots of room and right on the front beach. Your staff was very friendly and helpful. Thanks for a great experience.